The aim of this website is to share information from three crucial independent advisory services serving CGIAR. The site provides access to a wealth of knowledge products from independent advice to the CG over the past five years. As 2020 progresses, the site will develop further to provide updates on current and upcoming activities, interactive features and communication products.

The year 2019 was a period of change for CGIAR Advisory Services – the Independent Science for Development Council (ISDC), Standing Panel on Impact Assessment (SPIA), and the independent evaluation function of CGIAR each progressed through significant changes. The ISDC saw the renewal of its members, and a new Chair taking the helm as of October 2019. ISDC has a strong research for development orientation, reflected solidly in its new membership. It has been asked by System Council to direct much of its science for development advising in the latter half of 2019 and 2020 towards the One CGIAR change effort. SPIA added new members and special initiative members, and launched the first year of its ambitious six-year workplan this year. The plan supports a culture of impact, expands evidence of impact and institutionalizes data collection about diffusion and use of innovations. The modalities for independent evaluation delivery to CGIAR were adjusted and brought together more closely with the ISDC and SPIA workplans. These advisory entities and functions are now collectively supported by a single Secretariat, CAS Secretariat, hosted by the Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT, in Rome, Italy, through an arrangement with the CGIAR System Organization.

After a year of significant changes, the CGIAR Advisory Services is redoubling its efforts in 2020 to deliver the triple mandates of ISDC, SPIA and independent evaluation. We are looking forward to making important contributions to the CGIAR at a period of transformational change.

Enjoy exploring the revamped website.

Professor Karen Macours (Chair, SPIA) & Professor Holger Meinke (Chair, ISDC)